© 2017 by Natalia Sylvester | All Rights Reserved

  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

NEWS & REVIEWS

 

From PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY: Jennifer Greene at Clarion has bought Natalia Sylvester's RUNNING, a YA debut featuring 15-year-old Cuban-American Mariana Ruiz, whose father is running for president...Publication is planned for spring 2020. — LEARN MORE

 

"A novel that is timely, beautifully written, with descriptions and moments so tangible I was utterly immersed." — ROXANE GAY includes EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME in her 2018 year in reading and writing.

"EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME won the International Latino Book Award for Best Latino-Focused Fiction Book of 2018  

— LEARN MORE

"Sylvester’s work is less interested in revelations and happy endings... Like her parents’ reasons for immigrating, Everyone Knows You Go Home revels in uncertainty and refuses easy answers." THE VILLAGE VOICE 

 

Expertly narrated, this timely multigenerational immigrant story explores the unique challenges families face while examining the corrosiveness of secrets and the redemptive power of forgiveness.” — LIBRARY JOURNAL (STARRED REVIEW)

"You know you’re doing something right when Roxane Gay calls your second novel 'beautifully written, tangible, engaging.' In fact, Natalia Sylvester is doing a lot of things right." — GIRLBOSS

“EVERYONE KNOWS YOU GO HOME is prescient, tackling issues of family division, the arduous journey of crossing from one country into the next, and the sacrifices we make in exchange for a better future.” HOUSTON CHRONICLE

"What Sylvester illustrates goes beyond the danger of crossing the border. The novel acknowledges the complexities of birthplace and identity." — SAN ANTONIO CURRENT

 

"Natalia Sylvester has carved out a place between the living and the dead that will instantly have you hooked." — HELLO GIGGLES

"Though Sylvester's novel delves into strained familial bonds and the traumas of separation (and sometimes of reunification), the book is also incredibly funny." — MIAMI NEW TIMES

 

"[A] work of magical realism about hope, redemption and final farewells." — PARADE MAGAZINE

"Sylvester urges readers to see beyond trauma and respect the ordinary." — AN INTERVIEW WITH KIRKUS REVIEWS 

 

“The book transitions smoothly from past to present, and Sylvester is in complete control of her story... A forceful record of migration within a family and the dangers and triumphs of our undocumented population.” — KIRKUS REVIEWS

“Full of grayscale moralities, the family’s tale is one of difficult choices and the consequences that follow.” — HARPER'S BAZAAR

“Elegantly constructed, Everyone Knows You Go Home is briskly and evenly paced, clues carefully placed and plot twists seamlessly woven. Her second novel is a rare thing, driven equally by character and plot.” — LONE STAR LITERARY 

"Written in lean, uncomplicated prose, Everyone Knows You Go Home paints an elaborate portrait of the before and after of the immigrant story as told by those who journey it... Sylvester refrains from lending a voyeuristic gaze on human suffering and instead writes of trauma as the threshold through which one must pass on the journey toward elsewhere." —THE RUMPUS 

"Sylvester memorably depicts the precarious existence and difficult choices that face undocumented immigrants to America. "

— PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY

"Everyone Knows You Go Home is a gripping tale of family love, sacrifice and secrets revealed." — LATINO BOOK REVIEW

 

"The appearance of a groom’s dead father on his wedding day kick starts this mesmerizing novel about a couple grappling with their family’s past as they take in a nephew who found them." — AUSTIN MONTHLY

"Everyone Knows You Go Home is a touching portrait of a family willing to risk everything for a better life, and what happens when they do." — REFINERY29

One of The Best Books of 2018 (So Far) — REAL SIMPLE

"A beautiful touchstone for the ways in which narratives surrounding migration and familial bonds sometimes need to be wrenched from the mouths of pundits and reporters to return them to the world of flesh and blood, to the daily lives of the people living these stories."

— THE ADROIT JOURNAL

“Fans of Alice Hoffman and Polly Samson will appreciate [Sylvester’s] ability to blend the supernatural with the humdrum, imbuing each character in this droll yet tender novel with wit and warmth.” — BOOKLIST

INTERVIEWS

Can You Just Trust that We're Human - THE MILLIONS

 

A Discussion on Immigration with authors Natalia Sylvester & Lauren Markham - BOOKTV / CSPAN2

A Conversation with Natalia Sylvester - THE ADROIT JOURNAL

The TNB Self-Interview - THE NERVOUS BREAKDOWN

 

A Flash Interview with Natalia Sylvester - FRONT PORCH JOURNAL

 

Other Ppl Podcast with Brad Listi  - EPISODE 515

Read More Podcast - EPISODE 29

Brown & Lit Podcast - EPISODE 1

Austin ArtTalk - EPISODE 21

Writing on the Air - FEB. 28, 2018